Eating out in Colombo

Dear traveler/foodie/reader,

My trip in June officially makes it the 3rd time I’ve visited Sri Lanka. Needless to say that all three times, I’ve stayed predominantly at Colombo. Of course, the first time I was there, was with family so we stayed at the wonderful Eden Spa and Resort in Bentota for a few days (back in 2005) and then, at The Colombo Plaza for a few days in the city till our departure to India. I wish I knew what to say about the food back in 2005, I was a picky 18-year-old who stuck to eating chicken and may be salami and sausages and didn’t get around to experimenting much. Except for tasting the crab and lobster that my sister de-shelled and placed on my plate.

The second time around, I did my first solo international travel, exactly 10 years later. It was a fun trip no doubt. I had planned to travel around Sri Lanka but I ended up staying at Colombo almost all of the trip. Ten years later, I was of course, and thankfully, less picky and was game to try the different spreads Colombo had to offer.  From all that I tried then, I had to revisit some of my favourite places in this year’s trip too.

Like for instance, The Manhattan Fish Market. I’ve never been too big on fish, but at the same time, I can never resist a portion of Fish and Chips, something I had tried before. (Of course, I snuck a few bites from my friends this time too) However this time, I decided to be a bit adventurous and try the Mediterranean Baked Fish. It was a Dory fillet that came with a mixed herb and spice jus with a portion of a green salad. Definitely not the best combo as it wasn’t adding to the flavours from the fish. So I called for a portion of rice, which is what they actually serve this dish with and it did taste much better. The fillet was perfectly tender and didn’t taste fishy at all. In fact, the garlic rice complimented the flavours of the herb and spice sauce and with that, a lovely peach iced tea made for a delicious lunch meal. And to end it was a deliciously sinful portion of Fried Banana Fritters topped off with chocolate ice cream. Mind you it wasn’t like the ordinary ones. What was special about this was that coconut milk was poured over the ice cream and banana, giving it a richer taste.

Speaking of desserts, another place that I went back too was The Cakery (The English Cake Company). The last time I went to this bakery, it was a small little place with one table inside and another outside. Two years later, they have expanded into a cafe with two floors and a lot of seats. We ordered from TECC, their famous Dark Chocolate Mousse with White Chocolate Cheese Cake, which was absolutely divine, and the BlueBerry Chocochip Cheesecake, which I gobbled up within minutes! I mean who knew blueberry and choco chips were a mighty good combination?

Do you know what’s another great combo? Fresh strawberries, chocolate ice cream as a topping over a crisp vanilla meringue. That’s right. The folks up at Simply Strawberries definitely know how to storm up a delicious dessert with these ingredients. If you’re up for a sugar rush while you shop at The Cotton Collection, then you’ve got to hit this little kiosk outside in the parking lot. Trust me, I had to wait two years before I could actually have another one of these sundaes.

Simply Strawberries: Meringue Sundae
with Fresh Strawberries, Chocolate ice cream
topped off with Nougat

Taking cue from sundaes, Barefoot Cafe has a wonderful lunch spread every Sunday where a few jazz musicians perform from noon to about 5 pm. This is my absolute favourite place in all of Colombo because it’s the one place where you can enjoy the comfort of some delicious food as well as the energy from the people who come from different walks of life, top it off with some brilliant music and that makes for the perfect place to be on a Sunday. Especially, if you want to get out yet to do something chilled out. A glass of Lion Beer accompanied with literally anything off their food menu and you will be sorted. Barefoot Cafe: Jazz Sundays

Roast Chicken with roti

A new place I checked out with my friends this year was Cafe Kumbuk. An interesting restaurant/cafe that serves up organic and healthy food. Set up in an old bungalow, this cafe with its quirky interiors is definitely a must check-out. We ordered up some delicious food like Quesadillas, Burrito Bowl and a Feta Cheese and Watermelon salad along with coconut water (Thambili/King coconut) and ice teas. All of which was perfectly satiating and worth every penny. The Cafe, for those interested, also has a yoga centre and a souvenir stall. Look out for the quirky decor while you are there for sure. The old school mosaic tiles, the chandelier and even the flip flop towel holder in the washroom caught my eye.

Cafe Kumbuk: Thambili and
Feta Cheese and Watermelon Salad

Chicken Burrito Bowl

Quesadillas with Nacho Chips,
Salsa, Gauc and Sour Cream

We visited a few more places like the Manchester Pub for the Quiz night and then headed to the Ozo Hotel for a soiree and brought in a friend’s birthday at the rooftop bar.. both places are a must visit. Especially Ozo for its infinity pool and the view from the rooftop of the beautiful Colombo city.

So many more places to check out, but that’s for another time.

Until next time,

much love

D

 

 

Leave a comment