Surprise Surprise

The thing about surprises, is that it not only makes one person happy… it makes everyone around them beam with joy as well. And that’s what I love about giving surprises. It makes everyone happy!

                                                                                                      ~ 

About two months ago, my good friend Dheeraj asked me to accompany him to Sri Lanka as it was his first trip outside of India and was going to visit our friends Sugama and her husband Manish.

At first, I told him i’d ask my family if I could go… but sadly they said no as we were bringing home our second puppy.  It was also my uncle’s 60th birthday and the entire family was in town so things looked difficult. I told my friends it was a sure shot no and that I had to be present for my uncle’s birthday and help around the house when puppy number two arrived.

After much thought and having a second talk with my family, I got permission to go. Only this time, I refused to tell Dheeraj that I got permission. Less than a week after he booked his tickets I told Sugs that Im coming as well and that’s when we decided we’d surprise him in Sri Lanka. Initially, I wanted to surprise him at the airport while going to Sri Lanka but I had to attend my uncle’s dinner. So I booked my flight for the next morning. Dheeraj was off from 9th to 19th and I was to surprise him on 11th afternoon at my favourite restaurant in Sri Lanka – Barefoot Cafe.

Cut to chase… Sugs and I were going crazy keeping this from him for about a month and a half and it only got tougher on the day I got there but we managed (yaasss!) We ended up surprising him at home instead of at Barefoot as they were getting back into town from Kitulgala where they went white water rafting.

Here’s a horribly blur picture from the video I took of his when I surprised him. I cant really upload the video cause I was laughing pretty much like a hyena in it. LOL!

Leave a comment