Lifeline

My whole life has gone by
One day at a time… Years too.
Breathing with the help of a ventilation machine.

Pleasing people, making polite chat
Mostly genuine but sometimes unreal
You’d drag me out of my shell when I wasn’t even keen

Years went on
And I started to become your sidekick
We were the team… Or well maybe that was your trick.

The main act was when I left town
A dream we shared in common and then one day
I set out on my own

I saw you for you and
You didn’t even care to see me for me.
Made my loves I left behind, your crew.

Don’t take my concern for jealousy
Cause, dear one, it ain’t what it seems
Don’t over think this trying to do an autopsy.

The due date has expired
this ship has sailed on too
Always present when I was required

Breathing free without the line
You’d call for your all… Until one day,
someone new replaced me, too, as your lifeline!

Leave a comment