Gigs: a pre-birthday ritual

The positive of March being a day away is that I get to bring in my birthday month.
The real deal however, is that attending gigs/concerts around the same time has become sort of a yearly thing/ritual/ or even a coincidence, if you’d like to call it that…
Sometimes to bring in the birthday itself and sometimes to bring in the birthday month.

It all started 3 years ago, with my friends Pranati, Dheeraj & Pradyun had a gig at Fusion 9, and I decided I wanted to be with them and cheer them on. Singing my fave tracks, these three made it such a special birthday. That year on, I knew I had to be around music around my birthday. I might even sound crazy when I say this, but I think when you truly want something, the universe will conspire to make it happen for you.

And so, a year later, as a pre-birthday gift from my sister… she, a few friends of mine and I were standing a midst thousands of fans attending international indie artist Ed Sheeran’s concert in Mumbai. It was an epic trip!

This year was pretty awesome as well. One of my favourite Indian Indie-folk singer/songwriters whom I’ve been wanting to see live ever since the day I heard his music (2 years now i think), performed in my city for the first time… Prateek Kuhad, ladies and gentlemen for the first time in Hyderabad, played an awesome set at Heart Cup Coffee last night.

I have to be honest though, standing stage front watching this brilliant musician perform his compositions brought out the fan girl in me. I knew almost all the lyrics to all of his songs and I was swaying away to glory. But what proved to be slightly disappointing is the fact that the sound quality for a musician like him was definitely not up to mark. It’s like Kuhad said to a friend and me back stage when we went to meet him, the sound wasn’t great. I really wish it wasn’t so. But alas it was. Anyhow, moving on to his music.

Gosh, when you know the songs… and the effect it has on a person… on me… is something worth talking about! Hopefully I will find the right words to explain.

Forgive me though, if I do not go into last night’s set list as tempting as it is to want to write and talk about each and every freaking song of his but I think i will fail at an individual explanation. However, here’s a lil sum up of what it is like for me when I hear Prateek’s music.

The trail of thought that Kuhad’s songs send you on, is something like that of nostalgia. Almost, like you are standing still in a fast faced world or even static in a time lapse sequence while his songs serenade you. His lyrics talk to you as if he were narrating a story to a friend about things that he went through or is going through. They tell a story, one that is familiar with everyone. They are fitting to every situation and are for just about anybody. Listen to his songs, and you’ll want to give him a huge hug and thank him for putting words to the certain feelings you had no way of explaining.

You will know that to be true, if you’ve already heard his compositions. But if you haven’t yet checked out his beautiful original compositions … head to the tube or check out  4 videos of his songs from his gig last night at HCC, Hyderabad below!

Flames (my first fave song of his) https://goo.gl/photos/2g8VaDkx2PnJiL366

Into the night https://goo.gl/photos/sYFBEr5pLobK2XF4A

Tune Kaha https://goo.gl/photos/W6m9HbscQrpp91JU9

GO https://goo.gl/photos/uuv7fPVPExgNoHw47

Paheli https://goo.gl/photos/eRYoX4wZVG3Z8TzYA

(FYI: He played a new song at the gig, video to reach me soon)

~

So now that I can happily strike off Prateek Kuhad from my “Indian musicians to watch live” list!!!! (YAY!)
Until next time,

Plus love,

~D

 

Leave a comment